Motivation

Today I’m having trouble feeling motivated.

I’m tired and a little low. I think it’s that we haven’t seen the sun in a while and the weird weather gave me a killer headache yesterday that left me fuzzy all day. I can’t seem to find exactly what I want to eat and I’m not sleeping so great.

So this morning when I was journaling I started thinking about how hard it is to stay motivated. I think the biggest obstacle for most of us is the feeling that we have to be moving, moving, moving forward constantly. And it just ain’t true.

I used to have a mentor who said that if you’re not moving forward you’re moving backwards. I’ve been saying this a lot lately and I’ll say it here. That’s crap.

Perhaps that’s why she’s not my mentor anymore.

It’s perfectly okay to sit and be still and be present with my feelings of apathy and frustration. By sitting with those feelings I learn a little about my motivations and about who I am. If I’m constantly moving I can’t be sure I’m actually moving in the right direction. So I say sit.

Don’t wallow in it. Well, not always. But just be present and aware. If I can get in touch with the feelings I can start to change them. I can see where they come from and work on avoiding the things that get me there.

But I think the biggest part of accepting stillness is knowing that I can pick up right where I left off and keep moving forward. Just because I missed the gym for a day or two or even a week or two doesn’t mean everything is ruined. Same for eating healthy. A slice of chocolate cake doesn’t ruin my health….or a slice of pizza and a slice of cake….whatever it is, however long you indulge in the junk food binge doesn’t make any difference. You just get back to the healthier choices and continue on.

I don’t know where I picked up the idea that if I didn’t do everything perfectly I might as well just give up.

Filling my well (read back if you need to), also means that I accept myself and love myself regardless of the progress I make in any area. It’s knowing that I’m human and that I can move forward or side to side or even back and it’s all okay. It’s about learning lessons and knowing myself. Backwards is sometimes the best way to get where you’re going.

So today I cut myself a little slack. I allow myself to be tired and a little low and I take care of that by allowing myself to nap, to relax and to just be me in the moment perfect as I am.

Leave a Reply

