Passionately Present

One of my major character defects is my living in the future. I can plan with the best of them. Sometimes I think I like planning a business more than I like actually owning one. Yes, I’ve considered consulting and in fact, I’m working with a client to help her start a business taking into account yoga principles and living consciously. I love to plan. I hate having a plan.

Sounds a little nutty, huh? Nutty, but true. I think I want plans, schedules and lists. As soon as I have them I feel stifled. I feel boxed in and immensely uncomfortable. I like structure….just for other people.

I’ve been taught again and again that when I struggle I must get on the mat. The mat is full of wisdom that rises from my heart right when I need it. And so after many practices wondering how I can have more structure, but also find ease with it I’ve remembered one of the first things I learned. Be Here Now.

Be still. Be quiet. Be right here. It’s all I need. I still need to make plans and schedule things, but then I need to let it go and focus on this moment. I tend to start worrying about the future and forget that just like parenting, it’s a process. I didn’t jump into parenting a 13 year old. I built up to it. And I’m not going to jump into next month’s challenges. I’m going to build up to them. I was forgetting that this moment is awesome. This awesome moment will lead to another awesome moment and the momentum will get me to next month ready and excited for the challenges. And perhaps part of my problem is that I’m not making this moment awesome.

One of the things I’m working on for August is a Passion Yoga Workshop, all about connecting with your heart’s desire, feeling your purpose and learning to live in this moment. My study and writing about this has reinforced the idea that I can’t be passionate in life if I’m always in the future. I really need to find what excites me in this moment.

So living right now and being passionate about it is my major focus. I have so many exciting things happening in my life and am meeting so many terrific new people that I get side tracked.  Here are a few things that I’ve found help me to stay passionately present.

1. Define The Vision– Living in the present passionately means that I’m looking at a life vision that includes work, health, relationships, etc. I need to know where I’m going, but not how I’m going to get there. The how is a problem the universe will help me solve. I just focus on which direction I want to go. When I stay present with the vision and don’t limit myself by figuring out every detail of how I find the universe blesses me in ways I never would have thought possible.

2. Set Goals –Goals aren’t about setting incredibly high standards and slaving to achieve them. Goals are things that will help you create the life you want. But here’s the catch. achieving a goal should give you a high, should be inspiring and exciting and working to achieve that goal should be inspiring and exciting. If it’s just drudgery to get you closer to the end result then you’re not living passionately right now. When you write goals, make sure they are things you really WANT to accomplish things you really want to work on. If they’re not, perhaps your vision isn’t actually authentic.

3. Review The Goals  – Whether I’m journaling, meditating, going over my list or all three, I am constantly checking in with what it is I want. Okay, to be fair I’m not always great at this, but on the days I’m checking in I feel fresh, inspired, alive and vibrant. I am excited about jumping out of bed and starting my day. There are lots of way to stay in the vision zone, people write about them all the time, but my favorite is making a vision board and writing a list for the universe. Put your board and/or list somewhere you can see it several times a day so you don’t forget what you’re supposed to be working on.

4. Share-This is perhaps the hardest one for me. Telling my friends and family what my dreams are scares the stuffing out of me. I guess I’m afraid of failing publicly, but the greatest thing is my chances of failing drop incredibly if I just tell three people what I really want. Scary as it is, it almost legitimizes my dream for me. Because now I’m not just Melissa the yoga teacher, I’m Melissa the yogi who’s building a yoga business. Melissa the yoga therapist who is opening her own center.  And just hearing that makes it a little more real.

5. Get An Accountability Partner/s -Really this one has been the most helpful of all. I have a group of wonderful women who are all like-minded healers. We get together twice a month or so and I see most of them a few times in between. Sharing my ideas with them and just sitting and being in their energy inspires and excites me. AND I walk away energized and enthusiastic. Sometimes we don’t even talk business, but it still keeps me on track. To be honest, I have a few accountability partners. I have a meditation partner and we check in every morning, supposedly after we’ve meditated. Sometimes we do, sometimes we don’t.  Regardless every day I tell her what’s going on and what I’m focusing on for the day. Sharing my intention and knowing I’m going to talk to her in the morning helps me stay on track. Additionally, I check in with one of my best friends every week. We each talk about ourselves for about 30 minutes, sharing whatever is on our minds’.

So these are the top five. Over the next few weeks I’m going to address each one. (There I shared a goal with you, my accountability partners). I am working furiously on Passion Yoga Workshop. I’m putting together poses, meditations, subjects to journal on and breath work to help us get present with our deepest desire, passion and purpose. But, I will admit, I’m not staying entirely present. Before I have that workshop I have Yoga for Depression. Taking first things first isn’t always my strong point either. I guess that’s a subject for another time.

Peace.

One response to “Passionately Present

  1. Pingback: Live Passionately-Setting Goals | updogdowndog

Leave a Reply

