Gratitude Wednesday

Gratitude Wednesday is  back after a long hiatus. And it hasn’t just been missing from my blogging, it’s been missing from my life. I mean, sure I give thanks. I say the things I’m grateful for. I recognize that the universe occasionally steps in and saves my butt and I acknowledge it. But the focusing completely on gratitude for any length of time has vanished.

And my life changed-not for the better. When I stopped focusing on gratitude things felt less ordered and more out of control. Without a weekly reminder, like Gratitude Wednesdays, I found that I forgot to look for the good in difficult situations. I forgot about the silver lining. There’s always a silver lining.

Life got busy and hard. I felt harried and so often behind. I felt under-appreciated and lacking. I felt like I was failing-all the time. I definitely wasn’t tasting the sweetness of life.

So there’s the lesson. Can I live without gratitude or just a cursory nod towards it? Absolutely. Can I live well? I don’t think so. Not for me at least.

When I’m focused on gratitude on at least a semi-regular basis I see more and more to be grateful for. I see the good in people, situations and in myself. Whoa-that’s a revelation. When I focus on gratitude, on good around me then I can also acknowledge the good in me. I may have to chew on that one a bit longer.

So, here are the things I’m grateful for today. What’s on your list?

!. My kids. I’m happy they were with me last night and I’m spending great time with them this week. I’m so lucky to have kids so I can do all the fun summer things without feeling like a nerd. I’m planning on a lot of pool time this summer.

2. My work. Everyday I’m happy to have my work. It’s a rare thing and I’m a lucky girl.

3. My love. It took me a long time to find the right love and I’m blessed to have honesty, openness and fun in my relationship.

4. Cool mornings. We’re enjoying some rare cool mornings and it makes me want to jump out of bed and start my day!

5. Basil. I love, love, love pesto and the fact that basil is so abundant right now makes my heart sing!

It’s not deep or profound, but it’s what I thought of this morning. I’ll probably think of different things in an hour. It’s not important what, it’s just important that you acknowledge and say thanks.

What’s on your gratitude list?

 

Leave a Reply

